Cheadle Catholic Junior School

Home Page

Cheadle Catholic Junior School

Home Page


“The Leadership and Management are Outstanding – All staff and members and the Governing Body are dedicated to improving the lives of pupils.”



Cheadle Catholic Junior School is a Voluntary Aided school and its Governing Board consists of both appointed and elected governors. Following recent legislation, the Governing Board was reconstituted with effect from September 2015 and is smaller in size.


Members of the Full Governing Board 2018/19


Mrs Patricia Read (Chair & Foundation Governor)

Mr Barry Schilling (Vice Chair & LA Governors)

Mrs Rachel Fender (Headteacher)

Fr Paul Lomas (Foundation Governor)

Mrs Rosemary Hince (Foundation Governor)

Mr Denis Moran (Foundation Governor)

Mrs Debbie Robinson (Foundation Governor)

Mrs Deborah Burnett (Foundation Governor)

Mrs Leanne Wilson (Parent Governor)

Mrs Margaret Holland (Parent Governor)

Mrs Alison Lodder (Staff Governor)

Mrs Helen Bird (Associate Member)


Governors generally hold office for a period of four years at a time. During their term, they are encouraged to attend training courses and workshops on a comprehensive range of topics provided by the Local Authority and the Diocese and they receive updates on salient issues from a variety of sources.


Meetings: The Full Governing Body meets officially once per term. There are also various sub-committees. The Teaching and Learning Committee and Resources Committee officially meet termly, although the Resources Committee have additional meetings to approve the budget and to ensure best practice is being followed in managing the school finances.


Foundation Governors:

Foundation Governors at the school represent the interests of the Diocese of Shrewbury. The role of the Foundation Governor is to ensure that the school is clearly recognisable as Christian in its ethos and that its role is seen in the provision for Catholic children of the Diocese.

Our Foundation Governors are: Mrs Patricia Read, Mr Denis Moran, Fr Paul Lomas, Mrs Rosemary Hince, Mrs Debbie Robinson and Mrs Debbie Burnett.


Local Authority Governor:

Each Governing Body has one Governor representing the Local Authority.

Our LA Governor is Mr Barry Schilling.


Parent Governor:

Parents of pupils registered at the school are eligible to stand for election as one of the two Parent Governors. They are elected by other parents at the school.

The current Parent Governors are: Mrs Leanne Wilson and Mrs Margaret Holland.


Staff Governors:

The Headteacher is automatically eligible to be a full member of the Governing Body by virtue of the office. Both teaching and support staff who are paid at the school are eligible to stand as the staff governor. This person is elected by other members of the staff at the school.

The current Staff Governor is Mrs Alison Lodder


Associate Governors:

Under Reconstitution, Governing Boards may also have a number of Associate Governors. Whilst it has been agreed that these Governors have the right to vote at sub-committee level, they do not have a vote at the Full Governing Board meetings, nor are they required to attend them.

We currently have one Associate Governor: Mrs Helen Bird.

Details of the structure and responsibilities of the governing body and each governor’s: business interests, financial interests and governance roles in other schools are provided below.